This is the main content.

Dec. 5, 2023 — Publix recognized Lakeland Division District Manager April Young with the 2023 President’s Award at the company’s retail operations conference.

Recipients of the award are seen as champions for an inclusive workforce. They go above and beyond to allocate the time and resources necessary to develop the best possible Publix leaders. 

“In my role, I have the privilege of working alongside extraordinary people,” said April. “I love our associates’ genuine care and selflessness toward each other and our communities. We are willing to lift each other up without asking for anything in return.”

April has created a team with differing backgrounds, ideas and ways of thinking. She believes it allows Publix to grow and find better ways to get the job done. 

“Inclusion in the workplace is a must if we want to attract future leaders. In today’s world, we cannot successfully operate without diversity,” she said. “Everyone has something to offer, and it’s up to us to help them find their greatest potential.” 

April was humbled and proud when she learned she had been named this year’s Lakeland Division President’s Award recipient. 

“I am hopeful that I’ve had a positive impact on those I support and am excited to see how far they will go,” she said. “I enjoy investing in others, as I gain satisfaction and happiness through their achievements.”

About the honoree

April began working for Publix in 1987 as a front service clerk in Bradenton, Florida. She worked her way up through the grocery and customer service departments before becoming an assistant store manager. In 2001, April was promoted to store manager and district manager in 2008.

About the President's Award

The President’s Award honors one district manager from each of the company’s five divisions and one support manager who is committed to diversity and inclusion in the workplace. In addition, the recipients must be role models to others by who demonstrating exemplary leadership.  

April joins Atlanta Division District Manager Sean Franklin, Charlotte Division District Manager Vicki Parker, Jacksonville Division District Manager Abe Gonzalez, Miami Division District Manager Lillian Cook and Senior Director of Pharmacy Administration Katie Scanlon as this year’s President’s Award recipients.