This is the main content.

Dec. 5, 2023 — Publix recognized Jacksonville Division District Manager Abe Gonzalez with the 2023 President’s Award at the company’s retail operations conference.

Recipients of the award are seen as champions for inclusion in the workplace. They go above and beyond to allocate the time and resources necessary to develop the best possible Publix leaders. 

“What I love about Publix is that it gives us opportunities to show our very best to others and our communities,” said Abe. “Our team focuses on connectivity. We establish genuine and lasting relationships with our associates and customers.”

Abe embraces different ideas, thoughts, beliefs and cultures. He allows his team to bring what makes them unique to Publix and his associates continue to grow as individuals.

“I truly believe everyone brings something different and special to the table,” he said. “Our success is all about our people. We are nothing without our associates and customers.” 

Abe was honored when he learned he had been named this year’s Jacksonville Division President’s Award recipient. 

“Receiving this award validates our commitment to ensure our associates feel like Publix is the only place to work,” he said. “It also recognizes our effort to make our customers feel like Publix is a great place to shop.”

About the honoree

Abe began working for Publix in 1998 as a front service clerk in Pembroke Pines, Florida. He held various positions in customer service before becoming an assistant store manager. In 2010, Abe was promoted to store manager before becoming a district manager in 2015.

About the President's Award

The President’s Award honors one district manager from each of the company’s five divisions and one support manager who are committed to diversity and inclusion in the workplace. In addition, the recipients must be role models to others by demonstrating exemplary leadership.  

Abe joins Atlanta Division District Manager Sean Franklin, Charlotte Division District Manager Vicki Parker, Lakeland Division District Manager April Young, Miami Division District Manager Lillian Cook and Senior Director of Pharmacy Administration Katie Scanlon as this year’s President’s Award recipients.